My Favourite TV Shows

I am most definitely a binge watcher when it comes to TV shows. I would rather watch 10 episodes of a show than a movie any day. When I originally started writing this post I wrote “I don’t really have a favourite genre” and then as I wrote my list, I realised the majority of them are crime, dramas and most of them involve death in one way or another. I’m not too sure what that says about me, but I love dark, twisted shows. Enough babble, on with the list!

Grey’s Anatomy

Grey’s Anatomy, if you haven’t heard of it, is a medical drama that focuses on medical interns and doctors in a hospital in Seattle.

Now trust me, if you don’t think this show is something you’ll like – my boyfriend was the same. He wasn’t interested at all and after he caught a few episodes while I was watching he started from season 1, he’s now on season 10 (and I’m watching with him again)! This show will absolutely tug at your heart strings – it will make you laugh, it will make you cry. It will make your heart beat 10x its usual rate. It is a commitment to watch with there being so many seasons, each with 20 odd episodes in each – but each episode goes so quick you’ll get through it in no time! Definitely highly recommend this show, and it’s one of the only ones on my list that isn’t a dark and twisted crime show!

Pretty Little Liars

I imagine everyone has heard of Pretty Little Liars – a mystery, thriller, drama show about group of friends who fall apart when the ‘leader’ of their group is allegedly murdered. The friends are brought back together after all receiving messages from an anonymous person that called themselves ‘A’ that threatens and tortures the girls.

This show won’t take everyone’s fancy, but it’s most definitely one that keeps you on the edge of your seat waiting to see what’s about to happen! Admittedly, the story line does get boring – but there is always a twist around the corner ready to liven it up again. If you’ve not watched it but want to, I would recommend it. The first season is pretty naff but once you get past that it gets a lot better!

Dexter

Dexter, a forensic technician that doesn’t just solve murder mysteries, he commits them too. Dexter only goes after the guilty – but with a police woman sister and his cop co-workers, his psychological hunger can’t be easy to follow.

This show had me hooked from the very start. I’ve always loved a good serial killer show, or even documentaries about killers so this was right up my street. Without giving anything away, I got incredibly attached to Dexter. I loved him as a character and thought the show itself was astoundingly great. There’s 8 seasons and I’m pretty sure I watched it back to back over the period of a few weeks. My family would walk through the room whilst I watching it and we’d all end up sat on the sofa watching Dexter all day long! A truly great show, especially if you’re into dark, twisted shows like me.

dexter

Criminal Minds

FBI profilers and analysers go on the hunt for the countries most twisted criminal minds. Their aim to to anticipate the criminals next moves before they get the chance to.

This is another criminal show like Dexter, except it’s stupidly different. This team (including Matthew Gray Gubler – can we take a moment to appreciate him please) work against the clock to figure out a criminals next steps before they can strike again. This show is one that has a story that goes through from season 1 all the way to the end, but you don’t have to watch it from the start if you don’t care about character story lines. I watched this when it was on Netflix UK, so when they took it off and I had to manually click on a million links to watch a new episode, instead of it automatically playing it, it was harder to find the motivation to carry on watching. I think I got to season 10 before it got taken off and now I’ve lost my place, eventually I will start watching again but right now I’m too lazy to find where I got to! Cheers Netflix.

criminal-minds-season-12

Stranger Things

A Netflix original series based on science fiction tales. Focusing on the family and friends of a little boy that goes missing, his mum launches an investigation with local authorities to find him. But all is not as it seems, as they discover secret government experiments, extraordinary mysteries and unnerving supernatural forces.

If you turned off as soon as I mentioned science fiction, I feel you. I never thought in a million years that I would watch, let alone enjoy, a science fiction show. But this show captures you and pulls you in from the very first episode. Only on it’s first season, but it’s a must watch. If you haven’t already heard everyone and anyone talking about this show, dressing as Eleven or Barb for Halloween, then get ready for season 2 and an influx in Stranger Things fans! Watch it now so you can be in on the conversation.

stranger-things

Prison Break

When Michael Scofield’s brother Lincoln Burrows is convicted of a crime he didn’t commit and put on death row, Scofield gets himself incarnated and then sets out elaborate plans on how they’re going break out of prison and prove Lincoln’s innocence.

No explanation will do this show justice. I don’t think I’ve ever got through a show as quick as I did this. A show about two brothers, one that’s awaiting execution and one that believes in his brothers innocence and will do anything to help prove it. So much happens in this show but I can guarantee one thing, and that’s that you will not be able to stop watching. Along with the two brothers, you will also become attached to so many characters. You’ll constantly be on the edge of your seat, because even when things are good, there’s still something to keep you waiting.

prison-break

Friends

Is a favourite TV show list really worth doing without including Friends? I don’t even think I need to explain what Friends is, because either way it won’t do the show any justice to how great it really is! If you haven’t seen it before, it’s basically a group of 6 friends living in New York that do everything together, in the funniest way possible. This show is one that I have watched every single episode at least 5 times and I still belly laugh to this date.

This is another show that my boyfriend watched because of my influence and he watched it in a week flat. As long as you can look past some of the outdated jokes, this is a fabulous show to binge watch on a day when you don’t want to do anything except relax. you don’t have to use your brain and figure out what’s going on like the majority of this list, it’s pretty straight forward and you’ll definitely be going back for more.

Warning: the last few episodes ever will fuck you up. You’ve been told – don’t come crying to me when you didn’t prepare adequately!

So that’s it. A list of my favourite shows! I hope you enjoyed, and if you haven’t already I highly recommend every single show on this list – but Grey’s anatomy is most definitely one of my ultimate TV shows ever. Please watch it and cry with me, and laugh with me.

What are your favourite TV shows? I’d love to expand the genres that I watch!

XO

Ashley

46 thoughts on “My Favourite TV Shows

    • ashlexyz says:

      Oh I love hearing that – I highly recommend all of these shows! I can’t even recommend my one favourite – I tried for the post but they’re all SO good! I’ve seen Breaking Bad and How to Get Away With Murder – I almost included them both! And I’ve not seen GoT, I feel like it’s too overhyped for me to watch and enjoy now! xo

      Like

    • ashlexyz says:

      Me too, I definitely need to start watching it again! Oh no poor O’Malley, my boyfriend stopped them too but soon started watching again! I’d recommend carrying on (if you can handle more heartbreak anyway!) xo

      Like

  1. Lisa says:

    PLL is one of the few shows I just can’t get into. I don’t know why. However I do love your inclusion of Criminal Minds on that list 😉 Friends is just an all time fave for me though, I will never outgrow that show.

    x

    Like

    • ashlexyz says:

      Eh it is one of those shows that either hooks you or bores you to tears! The first season bored me but my friend told me to just keep watching – and then I got stupidly hooked that I watched it for a whole day, nonstop! I love Criminal Minds – I miss watching it but I need to find where I got up to! I agree, Friends is an absolute classic xo

      Liked by 1 person

  2. littlemissmelanie says:

    I’ve only watched Dexter and Friends out of the ones listed and I loved them. Friends never gets old does it. I definitely want to try the others mentioned, I love finding box sets to get hooked on.

    littlemissmelanie.com

    Like

  3. Beth says:

    Your favourite tv shows are literally the same as mine! I’m obsessed with Pretty Little Liars, Stranger Things and Prison Break and I am forever watching Friends! x

    Like

    • ashlexyz says:

      Oh that’s interesting! I started watching Supernatural and just couldn’t get into it. I think I got to season 2 before giving up although my boyfriend is absolutely obsessed with it! GoT is one I’ve been meaning to watch but I feel like it’s been so overhyped now that it won’t live up to my expectations! xo

      Like

Leave a comment